After the mail program finishes downloading the message headers from Hotmail, click on any message in the Inbox (just to have the cursor focus in that box), press CTRL-A to select all messages in the Inbox, then press Shift-Delete to permanently delete them.
How to clean up hotmail Inbox – 1
SOLVED! Hotmail/Outlook won’t delete items (emails) + delete recoverable items!
Write a brief article about how Hotmail has a built in function to delete/archive large emails, which can be found under the “More Actions” button on the bottom right of the message. You can also delete all of your old emails by going to Settings, then click on Account and scroll down to “Delete Old Emails.”
When the “More Actions” drop-down menu appears on the bottom right corner of an email, simply click it and choose either option. This will allow you to delete all past emails in one go.
“Remove from Folder” will unsubscribe that specific user’s emails into that folder (if applicable) but leave their latest messages active in your inbox.
To completely remove all archived/old emails, go to Settings > Account > Delete old Emails . The window that pops up will show how much storage space each account is taking up. Below the fold you can see how many days’ worth of emails you have waiting to be permanently removed.
When you delete an email from your various mailboxes, it could remain in the server’s inbox folder for a period of time before being deleted. The exact rule depends on your provider and their own use policies. For instance, protonmail will only let you delete a message when it has been opened by a recipient. Gmail users can delete any type of message after they log out through Google’s website or its iPhone browser extension interface (Android app not mentioned).
So they can load their inbox with new emails.
The people would want to permanently delete their emails off Hotmail so they can load their inbox with new emails. When you delete an email on your phone, tablet, or computer, it will be removed from the inbox but remain in one of your other folders until you empty that folder as well. That’s why most people leave really old messages in the “Trash” folder – they know that if they ever want to access them or resend them someday, all they’ll have to do is dig them out of there.
The inbox will be cleared once the number email limit has been reached. However, the delete key can be used to clear it manually so that new messages are not being ignored.
You can only hold up to 6,000 messages. Once you’re nearing the 6,000 limit of messages there are two ways to handle this quickly.
1. Click the menu button in the top right corner of your screen and click Settings from the dropdown list
2. Click your name from the left column, then My Account from the right column, and finally delete messages to clear out old email
3. From this page you can also set a new password if you need one by clicking update these settings at the bottom of your screen.